Transportation Commission

The nine members of the Transportation Commission meet monthly to discuss issues relating to the DOT, review & approve the 5-year Transportation Improvement Plan, award projects let to bid, and numerous other activities that govern the DOT. The nine members are appointed to four-year terms by the governor and each represents one of the four Regions of the state.

Current Agenda and Minutes are now located on the Boards and Commissions Portal

Office Phone

Robert Benson, Chairman PO Box 462, Winner, SD 57580-0462 605.842.2240

Appointed: March, 2003
Reappointment Term Ends: April, 2015

Robert was raised on a ranch 30 miles southwest of Winner. He attended a one room rural elementary school, graduated from Winner High school, and went on to major in Mathematics at the University of South Dakota. He lives on his ranch in Winner with his wife Judy of 45 years and has three grown children. Robert was a member of the National Guard for more than 30 years and was mobilized to "Desert Storm" where he commanded over six thousand combat engineers in support of that operations. After the ground war, he became a Theatre Engineer and had engineering responsibility for several countries in southwest Asia and retired as a Brigadier General. He has served on many boards and committees locally and statewide and was a senator in the South Dakota Legislature.

Donald L. Roby, Vice-Chair 57 Sunrise Dr., Watertown, SD 57201 605.753.5720

Appointed: February, 2011
Reappointment Term Ends: April, 2017

Don is a Watertown native and a 1980 graduate of Watertown High School. He attended the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, graduating in 1984 with a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science. He is currently employed by Winthrop Resources Corporation. He and his wife Kelly have three children, Nathan, Alyssa, and Ryan. His interests include exercising, boating, and golfing. He is active in the community and serves on the board of various foundations and organizations.

Tim Dougherty PO Box 2376, Sioux Falls, SD 57101 605.335.8586

Appointed: December, 2013
Reappointment Term Ends: April, 2018

Rodney Fouberg PO Box 1496, Aberdeen, SD 57401-1496 605.225.0832

Appointed: April, 1997
Reappointment Term Ends: April, 2017

Rodney was born in Mitchell, SD. He graduated from Letcher High School, Letcher, SD in 1956. He went on to obtain a Bachelor of Science Degree from South Dakota State University in 1960. Rodney is a banker, Chairman and CEO of Dacotah Banks, Inc., Aberdeen, SD. He and his wife, Glenna, have two grown sons, Robert and Daniel.

Ralph Marquardt PO Box 1040, Yankton, SD 57078 605.665.1053

Appointed: September, 2003
Reappointment Term Ends: April, 2015

Edward L. Seljeskog Rapid City, SD

Appointed: September, 2014
Term Ends: April, 2015

Edward Seljeskog was born in Minneapolis where he attended the Minneapolis public schools and then the University of Minnesota. After graduating with M.D. and PhD degrees, he joined the University faculty in 1968 and rose through the academic ranks, retiring in 1993 as Professor Emeritus of Neurosurgery. During his academic career he had various appointments to national medical regulatory and specialty certifying organizations where he functioned in numerous senior leadership positions. As a United States Navy reservist he was mobilized during Operation Desert Storm.

In 1993 he moved to Rapid City, where he practiced neurosurgery in the private sector, retiring from active surgical practice in 2012. He has continued his long-term commitment as a consultant to the Veterans Administration, currently at the Fort Meade VAMC. His wife, Peg, four of their children, nine grandchildren and one great-grandchild reside in Rapid City, with one daughter living in Minnesota.

Larry Thompson 2211 N. Minnesota Vantage Pt., Mitchell, SD 57301

Appointed: December, 2013
Term Ends: April, 2016

Larry is the CEO of Vantage Point Solutions – a telecommunications and engineering firm in Mitchell. Larry and his wife Vicki live in Mitchell with their two daughters. Larry has a Bachelor of Arts in Physics from William Jewell College and a Masters in Electrical Engineering from the University of Kansas. He is a licensed professional engineer in South Dakota and 20 other states. He is on the Mitchell Area Development Board, the Mitchell Wesleyan Church Board and Mitchell Christian School board. Larry enjoys traveling with his family, camping, hunting, boating, and watching his daughter's volleyball and basketball games.

Ronald Rosenboom

20708 Lincoln Court, Sturgis, SD 57785 605.347.0674

Appointed: Nov. 1, 2014
Term Ends: April, 2016

Ron is the former Executive Director for Black Hills Special Services Cooperative(BHSSC).

Kathy Zander 2300 E. Pine St., Pierre, SD 57501 605.224.2445

Appointed: April, 2014
Term Ends: April, 2018

blank space