In the News

blank space
Governor Appoints Transportation Commissioner
blank space


Department of Transportation

Office of the Secretary

700 E. Broadway Ave., Pierre, SD 57501

Phone: 605-773-3265

FAX: 605-773-3921

Web site: www.sddot.com and www.safetravelusa.com/sd





For Immediate Release:  Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Contact: Kristi Sandal, Public Information Officer, 605.773.3265


Governor Appoints Transportation Commissioner



PIERRE, S.D. – State Transportation Secretary Darin Bergquist announces that Kathy Zander of Pierre has been appointed by Gov. Dennis Daugaard to a four-year term on the South Dakota Transportation Commission.


Zander grew up in Pierre and is a graduate of T. F. Riggs High School. She attended South Dakota State University and graduated with a degree in Agronomy in 1980. Kathy has spent her career in agriculture and is currently the executive director of the South Dakota Agri-business Association and the South Dakota Grain and Feed Association in Pierre.


“Kathy’s vast experience in the agri-business industry and first-hand knowledge of the transportation challenges of a rural state will be a great asset to the commission,” says Bergquist. 


Zander succeeds Sam Tidball who served for 20 years on the commission.


Other commission members include: Rodney Fouberg, Aberdeen; Robert Benson, Winner; Tim Dougherty, Sioux Falls; Ralph Marquardt, Yankton; Donald Roby, Watertown; Jerry Schoener, Rapid City; Larry Thompson, Mitchell; and Michael Trucano, Deadwood.


For more information on Zander and the Department of Transportation boards and commissions, visit http://www.sddot.com/dot/commissions/Default.aspx.



- 30 -


blank space