In the News

blank space
Governor Appoints Transportation Commissioner - Sen. Vehle
blank space

For Immediate Release: Friday, February 17, 2017

Contact: Kristi Sandal, Public Information Officer, 605.773.3265 


PIERRE, S.D. – State Transportation Secretary Darin Bergquist announces that former Sen. Mike Vehle of Mitchell has been appointed by Gov. Dennis Daugaard to fill a vacant seat on the South Dakota Transportation Commission.


Sen. Vehle served the citizens of South Dakota as a member of the Legislature for 11 years (2005-2015). The last seven years of his tenure were spent studying the infrastructure needs of state and local governments.


“Sen. Vehle was instrumental in the passage of Senate Bill 1 during the 2015 legislative session, a bill which provided an increase in revenue for state and local highways and bridges,” says Secretary Bergquist. “His knowledge of highway needs and financing will be of great benefit to the department and the citizens of South Dakota.”


Sen. Vehle was selected for induction into the Transportation Hall of Honor in 2015.


Other commission members include: Rodney Fouberg, Aberdeen; Donald Roby, Watertown; Kyle White, Rapid City; Kim Vanneman, Ideal; Ralph Marquardt, Yankton; and Ronald Rosenboom, Sturgis.


For more information on the Department of Transportation boards and commissions, visit http://www.sddot.com/dot/commissions/Default.aspx.


- 30 -


blank space