Loading

In the News

blank space
Final Sturgis Rally Vehicle Counts
blank space

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Contact: Kristi Sandal, Public Information Officer, 605-773-3265

 

 

STURGIS, S.D. – Final vehicle traffic counts from the South Dakota Department of Transportation for vehicles entering Sturgis for the 79th annual Sturgis motorcycle rally Aug. 2-11, 2019, show a slight decrease over 2018.

 

Traffic counts at nine locations entering Sturgis for the 2019 Rally are as follows:

 

Friday, Aug. 2:            52,099 entering – up 5.4% from Friday last year

Saturday, Aug. 3:        59,572 entering – down -0.9% from Saturday last year

Sunday, Aug. 4:          55,551 entering – up 6.5% from Sunday last year

Monday, Aug. 5:         61,126 entering – up 2.9% from Monday last year

Tuesday, Aug. 6:        59,361 entering – down -1.5% from Tuesday last year

Wednesday, Aug. 7:   56,204 entering – down -7.3% from Wednesday last year

Thursday, Aug. 8:       51,540 entering – down -8.5% from Thursday last year (revised number)

Friday, Aug. 9:            45,369 entering – down -6.9% from Friday last year

Saturday, Aug. 10:      36,661 entering – down -2.3% from Saturday last year

Sunday, Aug. 11:        22,171 entering – up 3.6% from Sunday last year

 

10 Day total:

 

2019:  499,654            2018:  505,969            down  -1.2% over last year

 

Once compiled, a full report will be available on the SDDOT website at: http://www.sddot.com/transportation/highways/traffic/Default.aspx sometime the week of Aug. 19.

 

 

--30--

blank space