Annual Aircraft Registration
Annual Aircraft Registration Form - Fillable PDF file
South Dakota statute SDCL 50-11-8
requires every resident aircraft owner or lessee to register annually. The deadline for
annual registration is March 31 each year.
Complete the form as fully and accurately as possible. The calculated fee for Annual Aircraft
Registration is based on the schedule below that uses the age and class weight of your aircraft.
SCHEDULE OF AIRCRAFT ANNUAL REGISTRATION FEES
(Max Gross Takeoff WT)
New - 9 Yrs
10 Yrs Plus
|0 - 1,500
|1,501 - 2,000
|2,001 - 3,000
|3,001 - 4,000
|4,001 - 5,000
|5,001 - 6,000
|6,001 - 10,000
|10,001 - 12,499
|12,500 - 15,000
|15,001 - and over
Annual fees paid after June 30th is half of the normal fee. After September 30th, one-fourth of the normal fee is due. In all cases, a minimum fee of $10 is required to register an aircraft.
Original Aircraft Registration:
Original Application for Aircraft Registration Form
Before any aircraft can be licensed by the Department of Transportation, the owner must have satisfied the original registration tax requirement. IF you are new resident of South Dakota, reciprocity of the tax may apply. In general though, a tax of 4% is due based on purchase price of aircraft. Aircraft used for agricultural purposes will be charged 3%.
Reciprocity means that if the plane was purchased in a participating state and has already paid an original registration tax equal to or greater than South Dakota's then you won't have to pay that tax again if you move your primary residence to South Dakota. South Dakota has reciprocity with many States in regards to this tax except for: Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, Oregon, & Rhode Island. Owners or lessees of new or used aircraft not previously registered in this state or a reciprocating state must, within 30 days of operation, register such aircraft with the South Dakota Department of Transportation and pay the 4% original registration tax.
If taxes and penalties are due, registration of the aircraft may not be completed without collection of those fees and taxes.
FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN THE FOLLOWING PENALTIES:
- Failure to register an aircraft within 30 days after it is operated in this state: Class 2 Misdemeanor.
- Failure to register an aircraft within 90 days of the date due shall result in a civil penalty of ten percent (10%) of the registration fee due for each month, or portion thereof, until the fee is paid, not to exceed five (5) times the fee due.
- Failure to pay the original registration tax within 30 days after the aircraft is operated in this state: Class 1 Misdemeanor.
- Failure to pay the original registration tax within 90 days of the due date could result in a civil penalty of ten percent (10%) of the tax due for each month, or portion thereof, until the tax is paid, not to exceed two (2) times the tax due.
If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Jennifer Boehm at (605) 773-4430.
Aircraft Dealer License
South Dakota Codified Law 50-12 will show all requirements to be an aircraft dealer. Any person desiring to sell more than one aircraft within South Dakota shall apply for an aircraft dealer's license. To be a dealer, that person must possess one or more aircraft under normal registration in addition to at least two other planes for resale purposes. Dealer licenses cost $200 every two years. If a plane is to be used until it is sold (please note restrictions of use under SDCL 50-12-8), the dealer will need a Commercial Use Stamp as well. Each Use Stamp is $100 in addition to the $200 license fee.
If you have any questions, please contact Jennifer Boehm at (605) 773-4430 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Pilot Registration is no longer required in South Dakota